→ Don’t ask a non-drinker why they don’t drink


storm_cloaks, commenting on a Reddit thread:

As a non-drinker, answering the “why don’t you drink?” question is always annoying. Generally speaking, I think it’s poor etiquette to ask someone why they don’t drink, and it saddens me that most people don’t feel the same. First, its really none of their business. Second, asking someone to justify a personal choice at a party is a total killjoy, and it clearly creates a separation between the non-drinker and the drinker that’s asking. Going out of your way to point out the fact that someone’s different from you, *especially in a situation that’s supposed to be festive is totally ridiculous, if not offensive. I understand the curiosity, but it would be rude and odd if I asked people at a party “why do you drink?”

I love that explanation. I couldn’t have put it any better myself. On several occasions I have been asked by friends and acquaintances why I don’t drink. 90% of the those times, I have been made fun of and called a pussy for not drinking. I have never understood why people who drink or want to drink feel compelled to ask why the people around them don’t. It’s OK to offer somebody a drink, but not at all OK to ask them why they don’t. It is OK if you are truly curious why somebody doesn’t drink, but I feel that people who drink don’t honestly care about the reason why somebody doesn’t drink. I mean, are they looking for reasons to justify quitting? Or looking for lack of justifiable reasons to justify their drinking?

Leave a Reply

