Whingingly yours


People who have worked with me know that I tend to whine a lot. I bitch about the smallest of things—not having a proper desk to work on, a comfortable chair to sit on, a powerful machine to work with, LCD to look at without straining my eyes, copious space to park my car, a peaceful ride to and from work, or even if ridiculously, continuous supply of power to do anything, etc.

I don’t complain for the heck of it, or because I am a disgruntled individual pissed at almost everything in life all the time. I want to be the best and most effective in what I do. To be that, I must somehow be productive. I can give way to productivity only when I am at peace with myself and everything around me to concentrate on the work at hand. And for that to be, I have to not worry about the desk on which I work being an inconvenience because perhaps it isn’t big enough to have half of what I need on it at any given time or wasn’t designed with ergonomics in mind, the chair on which I sit for the most part of the day to cause backache, the machine on which I work my finger to the bone to be sluggish and agonizing for that alone adds to your frustration more than any other single factor, the monitor to cause repeated headaches and eye-aches, circling the area outside round and round to find some place to park my car and finding subsequently that someone bumped your car at or the traffic police morons towed it away from the seemingly cramped up place you found to park it on because of lack of a proper parking spot, getting stuck in rush hour traffic for hours at ends amidst impatient idiot drivers honking and squeezing their cars where a bike won’t fit only to exacerbate the traffic jam thereby causing you to end up with almost no energy to do any work on top of carrying a frustrated mood, sitting in dark with no power, etc.

Did you lose track of what I started with?

Joel, in his article `The Development Abstraction Layer`, has it down an order of a magnitude more aptly and eloquently than I can ever myself.

2 thoughts on “Whingingly yours

  1. Pingback: Whingingly yours | Tea Break

  2. A great man once said:
    “Its the hinge that squeeks that gets the grease”. Malcolm X.

    If you dont complain people assume you’re fine with it all.
    Also dude we never said you’re a whinger….who’s been talking :P

Leave a Reply

