When it is not fun, move on!


The following is an excerpt from Richard Branson’s “Screw It, Let’s Do It: Lessons In Life”.

    As soon as something stops being fun, I think it is time to move on. Life is too short to be unhappy. Waking up stressed and miserable is not a good way to live. I found this out years ago in my working relationship with my oldest friend, Nik Powel.

    Nik was with me from the very start of Virgin. I was the ideas person and Nik kept the books in order and handled the money. His main job was to run the Virgin record stores. They did very well. When we started the airline, we wanted it to be the best. We sank millions of pounds into it. Our main rivals, British Airways, tried to stop us. As the war between us heated up, we needed more and more money. It seemed an endless pit. Virgin Music was wealthy but the airline was eating up the cash. Nik didn’t enjoy taking such huge risks. That was when we both knew it was time for him to move on. I bought his shares in Virgin from him.

    Nik’s first love had always been films. He used his profit from Virgin to start Palace Pictures. He made great films, like The Company of Wolves, Mona Lisa and The Crying Game, which won an Oscar. He is still in the film business, still having fun and we are still friends. After a struggle, the airline finnally went into profit. If Nik had stayed with Virgin he might have made more money, but he would not have been happy. If we had gone on working together even after the fun had gone, we might have stayed friends. He made the right choice. This is the why I say, never just try to make money. Long-term success will never come if profit is the only aim.

I have been meaning for a long time to say along those lines. Richard Branson, however, has aptly put it into perspective. On an altogether different note, this book is an inspiring read.

5 thoughts on “When it is not fun, move on!

  1. Pingback: When it is not fun, move on! | Tea Break

  2. Yes, indeed, they are. I don’t have the e-book. I am not sure whether one is available. What I have is the paperback version of the book lent to me by a friend.

  3. I kind of agree with the Passage that you should really do what you love doing but the harsh reality is it just doesn’t work that way sometimes. Its true that your always going to be rich not because you love money but you love what you do and you excel at that….

    For me i still haven’t discovered what i enjoy doing even at the age of 23. So i am in a pretty sad state!!!. I have set my Career goals and objectives but in reality its not really something i enjoy doing…. epic fail i must say.

  4. Thanks for the comment, Harris.

    I cannot deny that. Sometimes, it just does not work that way. Most of the times, we do not have the luxury to give up what we are doing to go on to do what is fun for us and what we love doing. Sometimes, it seems nearly impossible to chase one’s dreams. At the very least, I believe one should still give it more than just a mere try.

    This book is inspirational, though no doubt, one cannot deny the fact that the author has had been lucky through his life and career. I also heard the graduation speech Steve Jobs gave at Standford. I loved some parts of it, especially where he says something to the effect of, “Life is too short; don’t spend it living someone’s life.” He speaks from experience, and looking back, you would feel, just like you would after reading this book and about Richard’s life, that Steve got lucky too. But, I believe anyone can get lucky. They only need to believe in something, and try to achieve it.

    All the while, I am sorry to hear about your not having discovered what you enjoy doing. I hope you do pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

