Resource! (Random Musings #27)


The client complains, “Where is the resource? The resource hasn’t reached yet for testing.” The project manager frantically responds, “Our resource is on its way for on-site testing.” At another point in time, the project manager is caught writing, “I am aligning my resources for activities planned for today“.

Resource this. Resource that. I tell you, it pisses the hell off of me. I am a resource. Period. Expendable? Likely. But, nevertheless, I am a resource.

I don’t know about what any of you may think, but to me, referring to me as a resource is outright rude. Period. I seriously don’t know how I stand listening to people referring to me as resource again and again. Sigh. It is only a matter of time before I snap.

16 thoughts on “Resource! (Random Musings #27)

  1. This is how business runs. I’m sure the client who complained is also treated as a resource by his superior. Same goes for your manager.

    The only solution for this is to be your own boss! :-)

  2. It is just utterly rude to call someone like that. Its like calling a servant servant! and verbally slaughtering his/her moral. Such an act will result in the loss of a highly hoenest and valuable resouce.
    btw ayaz the place where you are working, in the past few weeks I have come across such horrifying news about the higher ups that it has literally made me sick even thinking about applying there. no offence but I have witnessed it personally as well and I think you know about it. !!!

  3. Unfortunately, Munir, that is not the case. We are at the lowest level of hierarchy at the organisation. Higher-ups are not called like that. I know for a fact.

  4. Um, Amyn, I think we need to discuss what you’ve come across and what I know personally. I’ll talk to you about it at leisure. Thanks for the comment.

  5. Yes this is obvious that the higher the rank, the more respect you get. No matter how rudely they are called, all employees are treated like resources because they are, in reality, just resources. This was my point.

  6. Munir, you missed my point. It is not about being a resource — it is about being referred to as a resource. In the absence of my immediate Senior, I don’t the top brass referring to him as a resource.

  7. A happy and joyous new year to you too, Astarte.

    I am glad that you are not a resource, and if at any point you do become one, I wish you never have to confront being (indirectly or directly) referred to as a resource.

  8. You does one not be a resource? If you’re not a resource, you’re a waste of space. Not being a resource essentially says that you’re of no use to your employer.
    That said, I totally agree with the sentiment of the post. Resource is a TERRIBLE word to call someone. I cringe everytime I hear someone being referred to as a resource. To me, calling someone a resource says that what you do is so insignificant, people can’t be bothered to even call you by your official title. Why not say ‘Developer’ or ‘QA Analyst’ or whatever? Is that group of people so generic that they have to be called ‘resources’?

  9. I wholeheartedly agree, Fawad. My objection was never at being a resource. It is the “calling me as resource” part that is really insulting [to me]. And to add fuel to fire: It is not like we have big teams, instead we tend to have one developer per team strategy here. Calling that developer a resource is, well, just being unfair to them.

  10. Well haven’t really been called/referred to as a ‘resource’ yet. But what is wrong with the word anyway? I mean, for whatever it is, it is a word which gives out positive connotation of being resourceful. Maybe the generality of the term is offensive, have to go through it I guess. :-)

  11. Maybe the guys don’t know english as well as you do. They may just be insensitive to the interpretations of the people who are being referred to as such, they just think it sounds cool:).

    Making a senior who is friendly to you aware of this may help.

    This thread is pretty old, I hope you’re past this by now.

    Take care

  12. It’s probably becoming more prevalent to treat people this way as more and more knuckleheads become project managers. Using jargon makes you feel professional, and calling people “resources” is a way to do this. There are many forms of workplace incivility and this is a good example. Inconsiderate use of speakerphones and loud talking in small cubicles are some more.

Leave a Reply

