Special Besan Ka Halwa


Cleaning my study today, I found written on a piece of paper a brief but complete recipe to quickly make Besan Ka Halwa. As I fell back into time, I remembered everything from the point where how someone went to great lengths to clearly convey the recipe across to me online to the point where I strenuously made the halwa, which I should like to mention was the first complete thing I cooked, and tasted it. Nostalgia can be so bitter and sweet all at the same time.

The ingredients and instructions I am typing “as is”. I imagine that preserving something as special as this on a piece of paper is nearly impossible, so I decided to immortalise it on my blog.

Ingredients

  • Besan (Flour of dried chickpeas) – 1 cup
  • Elaichi (Cardamom) – 3
  • Milk – 2 cups
  • Egg – 2
  • Cream – 200 mg

Instructions

  • Take frying pan (non-stick) and wooden spoon.
  • Fry dry besan for 5-10 minutes till colour changes and smells good.
  • Put beans of Elaichi (cardamom).
  • Fry further for 10 minutes, and don’t stop stirring (which is very important).
  • After 15 minutes, add cream, and stir fast otherwise cream will stick to the bottom of pan.
  • Stir cream for 15 minutes.
  • Add sugar 6-8 tablespoons full.
  • When sugar has melted, put milk.
  • Stir gently with milk in the mixture, slowly and constantly.
  • Once mixture has homogenised, keep stirring slowly and you will see bubbles bursting.
  • Keep on frying till it leaks ghee (fat).
  • Break 2 eggs and mix them quickly.
  • Fry for 5 more minutes.
  • It is ready to serve. Add almonds or pistachios, if you like for taste.

(Note. Someone was kind enough to point me to Glossary of Indian Food Cooking Ingredients which mentions some of the ingredients used in this recipe that may sound alien to some of the readers)

11 thoughts on “Special Besan Ka Halwa

  1. :) I’m sure it’ll be a piece of cake for you (I was literally standing in the kitchen stirring and stirring, nervously reading the instructions on the paper again and again, making sure I haven’t missed any part). By the way, when ever you do, I’d love to know how it goes. ;)

  2. How mine turned out? Well, let’s see: I let my mom do more than just taste it, and first, she looked up, and stared at me with that “You made this?” look, and then said, “Wow, it is actually pretty good”. :) Now, I am not sure whether she was just saying that to make me feel better (which is something I know she never does, so the odds are real good she meant what she said). Nevertheless, I liked it.

  3. Welcome back, Lubna. Not just halwa, I can do a lot of things that girls do at home, and can do them way better than most girls at that. Halwa tasted pretty good — mom agreed on that, too.

Leave a Reply

