Of road accidents and humping cars from behind.


I seem to be having a go at humping cars from behind on roads since the past month.

Last month when I rammed my car head straight into another’s, it was not only the car that got hurt, but the ego suffered too. In three years of active driving, I had kept a clean sheet: no accidents, no dents, no bumps, no injured civilians, no broken glasses, no dead cats nor dogs. Last month’s ordeal left my clean running spree to end in a debacle. I admitted it back then and I admit it today: It was wholly my mistake. I wrongfully assumed the car in front would be moving and occupied myself to opening up the wrapper of a mint gum with a single hand and inspecting where exactly from the door next to me that annoying, creaking sound was coming (I do continue to blame the somewhat cranky door and the darned mint gum). By the time I looked up, it was too late. The impact left me to pay for a new headlight and some denting work. My ego took a hard blow as well.

Today’s ordeal simply added fuel to the fire.

I was involved in another innocuous road accident in the late morning today. The car moving at a steady pace in front came to a screeching halt. I suppose I was moving in too close to the car. I missed dropping all weight on the brakes in the nick of time by just a split of a second. Wham. The bumper on the car I humped broke off from one corner and came off hanging just a bit. The part of the chassis of my car that made impact didn’t sustain any damages. No one got hurt: Except my ego.

I drive ruthlessly. I drive carefully. It is only when my mind in a spur of a moment slides off into another dimension that I find myself the recipient of doom.

I am sitting with a cranky look on my face that would ward off anyone approaching from a distance. Sigh

13 thoughts on “Of road accidents and humping cars from behind.

  1. Look at this way, atleast now you can label yourself a complete driver, you need to have atleast one accident in your driving history to make you feel that worst has happened…

    You’re more sensitive than i thought,bruising your ego over teeny tiny accident.. I’m more dheet than you are, i have long history of ramming my car into public buses, stop signs and even bamboo pole that resulted in making Itwaar bazaar tent falling over chickens and chicken walas!

  2. Um, Ammar, when you get to drive your own car every day to work, you’ll realise.

    And, I really took the time out to choose to clearly use “… my mind wanders off” instead of “… my eyes wander off” especially to factor out that one lame comment that you’ve managed to, despite my efforts, come up with. Kudos. :)

    Don’t ascribe to others that which best defines your actions.

  3. hehe

    I agree on the first point. But as far as Don’t ascribe to others that which best defines your actions bit is concerned how can I forget you are not into women :P

  4. Nopez, I am not kidding, I’m not allowed to drive anymore! the reason i cause so much destruction, (apart from being a ‘woman’ driver) is because i have a disability. I’m senseless (literally!)i cannot differenciate between left and right, but still i won’t let that hurt my ego :) and nor my passion for driving

  5. Um, that sucks, Lubna. My aunt, who happens to be the Director of the Balochistan University for Women, once told me on my visit to Quetta, “Us women are a privileged lot”. That comment was incited by her smoothly passing a road block set up by navy guards thwarting off vehicles from going in. I still think women are a privileged lot when it comes to driving, too.

    By the way, there is a great article on precautions and security measures to take for women drivers in last Thursday’s Review. You might want to read it. Despite it being directed solely at women, I find the advice and suggestions pretty helpful.

  6. u banged into someone and that hurt yr ego, well it was yr fault and its good that u accept it. I dont bang vehicles, but when I keep honking and no1 budges, I just brush past them & then I get the wildest of stares. Well I stay in Poona and that too in an area where even walking can be a thrill, and me on da bike is like a roller-coaster ride fr my frnds, in the car I have to be a bit careful, i somehow manage not to bang into any vehicle, unfortunately humans are not spared.

Leave a Reply

