Converting Perl scripts into Perl executable files.


There comes a time when, as a Perl programmer, you want to compile your Perl scripts into executables and distribute them. Although I am an advocate of Open Source Software, at work, I am often *required* to eventually convert the Perl scripts I have written into binaries.

For those Perl programmers who are looking for ways to do that, here are a couple of softwares:

Of the four, I’ve actually ever used Activestate’s Perl Dev Kit on Windows and ‘perlcc’ on Linux. Mind you, the former is a commerical software. The latter comes bundled with the stock Perl distribution (on Linux systems, at least).

8 thoughts on “Converting Perl scripts into Perl executable files.

  1. Hi, you said that you used perlcc, i want to use it for my open source project to but when i run perlcc myapp.pl -o my it returns error link1551 entry point must be defined, can you help me i have installed MSVC 10

Leave a Reply

